2010 Occoquan Elections

January 29, 2010

In 2010 the residents of Occoquan will once again have the opportunity to elect a Mayor and new Town Council. Voting will take place at Town Hall from 6:00am – 7:00pm on Tuesday, May 2. Reminder, you must be registered to vote by April 12 in order to participate.

In 2008, the elections were a bit of a drag because there was only one mayoral candidate and only 5 Town Council candidates (vying for a total of 5 open seats). Out of 593 registered voters, only 131 cast votes (22% turnout). James Walbert was elected to the Town Council with only 90 votes!

If you are interested in running for Town Council, now is your opportunity. You may obtain the necessary filing forms by contacting the Office of General Registrar at (703) 792-6470 or by downloading the forms from the State Board of Elections website.

The current Occoquan Town Council consists of:

  • Mayor Earnest W. Porta, Jr.
  • Vice Mayor Ken Brunsvold
  • Council Member James N. Walbert
  • Council Member Denise M. Bush
  • Council Member Joao Paul “JP” Cunha
  • Council Member Barry G. Dean

Leave a Reply